Patricia Cornwell - Bio, Novels, Checklist


Patricia Cornwell Bio

Note: If you are unaware of the harrassment that Patricia Cornwell has been dealing with, check out this first hand report: Stranger Than My Fiction. Here's the latest regarding her civil suit against the dirtbags at her accounting firm: Patricia Cornwell Can Return to the Writing Life...

Patricia Cornwell In the News: Jamie Lee Curtis’ production banner Comet Pictures and Blumhouse Television are developing a one-hour series based on Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta character, a forensic pathologist at the center of 24 crime thrillers, with Cornwell, Curtis, Jason Blum, Blumhouse Television president Chris McCumber and Jeremy Gold serving as executive producers.

Born Patricia Daniels in Miami, Florida, she moved to North Carolina at age 7 following her parents' divorce. While attending Davidson College, Patricia met English professor Charles Cornwell, who she married and subsequently divorced after 10 years. After graduating with a degree in literature, she worked as a crime-reporter for the Charlotte Observer and spent six years working as a computer analyst for the Virginia Chief Medical Examiner's Office. While there, she witnessed and, at times, assisted in hundreds of autopsies. She also served as a volunteer police officer.

"It is important to me to live in the world I write about. If I want a character to do or know something, I want to do or know the same thing."

Between 1984 and 1986, Cornwell wrote three novels based on her crime desk experience. All were rejected. Disheartened, she wrote to Sara Ann Freed, an editor at Mysterious Press, the one publishing house that had softened its rejection with encouragement. Freed suggested she dump the male detective who had been her central character and expand Scarpetta who had only played a minor role in the early works. So, in 1990 Patricia Cornwell's first novel, Postmortem, was published. Postmortem was the first novel to win the Edgar, Creasy, Anthony and Macavity awards, as well as the French Prix du Roman d'Adventurei, in a single year.¹

1 Expanded Bio

I belong to several affiliate programs. When you purchase a book from this site, I earn a commission from amazon. Thank you.


< Mobile Index  < Books Home

The Kay Scarpetta Novels In Order

1. Postmortem (1990)

2. Body of Evidence (1991)

3. All That Remains (1992)

4. Cruel and Unusual (1993)

5. The Body Farm (1994)

6. From Potter's Field (1995)

7. Cause of Death (1996)

8. Unnatural Exposure (1997)

9. Point of Origin (1998)

10. Black Notice (1999)

11. The Last Precinct (2000)

12. Blow Fly (2003)

13. Trace (2004)

14. Predator (2005)

15. Book of the Dead (2007)

16. Scarpetta (2008)

17. The Scarpetta Factor (2009)

18. Port Mortuary (2010)

19. Red Mist (2011)

20. The Bone Bed (2012)

21. Dust (2013)

22. Flesh and Blood (2014)

23.Depraved Heart (2015)

24. Chaos (2016)

Captain Chase Novels

1. Quantum: A Thriller (2019)

2. Spin (2020)

All Patricia Cornwell Novels >>

Amazon Books Home >>

All Scarpetta Kindle eBooks >>

All Patricia Cornwell Kindle eBooks >>

All Kindle eBooks >>

In her acclaimed novel At Risk (2006), Patricia Cornwell introduced a new cast of characters, including Win Garano. In 2008, she released a second novel featuring the shrewd Massachusetts state investigator, The Front.

Scarpetta fans, for your convenience, a Printable Scarpetta Series Checklist.

Copyright © 2004- by Ace Toscano. All rights reserved.
sitemap 1  sitemap 2
Privacy Policy