Clive Cussler - Bio, Novels, Checklist


Sadly, Clive Cussler passed away on February 24th, 2020. He will be sorely missed.

Clive Cussler Bio

Clive CusslerClive Eric Cussler (born July 15, 1931 in Aurora, Illinois; died February 24, 2020) is an American adventure novelist and successful marine archaeologist.

Clive Cussler was born in Aurora, Illinois and grew up in Alhambra, California. He was awarded the rank of Eagle Scout when he was 14. He attended Pasadena City College for two years and then enlisted in the United States Air Force during the Korean War. During his service in the Air Force he was promoted to Sergeant and worked as an aircraft mechanic and flight engineer for the Military Air Transport Service.

Clive Cussler married Barbara Knight in 1955 and they remained married for nearly 50 years until her death in 2003. Together they had three children, Teri, Dirk and Dana who have given him four grandchildren.

After his discharge from the military Cussler went to work in the advertising industry, first as a copywriter and later as a creative director for two of the nation's most successful advertising agencies. As part of his duties Cussler produced radio and television commercials, many of which won international awards including an award at the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival.

Following the publication in 1996 of Cussler's first nonfiction work, The Sea Hunters, he was awarded a Doctor of Letters degree in 1997 by the Board of Governors of the State University of New York Maritime College who accepted the work in lieu of a Ph.D. thesis. This was the first time in the college's 123-year history that such a degree had been awarded.

Cussler is a fellow of the Explorers Club of New York, the Royal Geographic Society in London, and the American Society of Oceanographers.¹

"When I first started writing, I was in advertising at the time, I was doing most of my writing on weekends. I had studied most of the other series heroes and I figured it would be fun for mine to be different and put him in and around water. So I dreamed up Dirk Pitt."

I belong to several affiliate programs. When you purchase a book from this site, I earn a commission from amazon. Thank you.


< Mobile Index  < Books Home

Clive Cussler Novels In Order

The Mediterranean Caper (1973)

Iceberg (1975)

Raise the Titanic! (1976))

Vixen 03 (1978)

Night Probe! (1981)

Pacific Vortex! (1983)

Deep Six (1984)

Cyclops (1986)

Treasure (1988)

Dragon (1990)

Sahara (1992)

Inca Gold (1994)

Shock Wave (1996)

Flood Tide (1997)

Atlantis Found (1999)

Valhalla Rising (2001)

Trojan Odyssey (2003)

Black Wind (2004)

Treasure of Khan (2006)

Arctic Drift (2008)

Crescent Dawn (2010)

Poseidon's Arrow (2012)

Havana Storm (2014)

Odessa Sea (2016)


Golden Buddha (2003)

Sacred Stone (2004)

Dark Watch (2005)

Skeleton Coast (2006)

Plague Ship (2008)

Corsair (2009)

The Silent Sea (2010)

The Jungle (2011)

Mirage (2013)

Piranha (2015)

The Emperor's Revenge (2016)

Typhoon Fury (2017)

Shadow Tyrants (2018)

Final option (2019)


The Chase (2007)

The Wrecker (2009)

The Spy (2010)

The Race (2011)

The Thief (2012)

The Striker (2013)

The Bootlegger (2014)

The Assassin (2015)

The Gangster (2016)

The Cutthroat (2017)

The Titanic Secret (2019)

The Saboteurs (2021)


Serpent (1999)

Blue Gold (2000)

Fire Ice (2002)

White Death (2003)

Lost City (2004)

Polar Shift (2005)

The Navigator (2007)

Medusa (2009)

Devil's Gate (2011)

The Storm (2012)

Zero Hour (2013)

Ghost Ship (2014)

The Pharaoh's Secret (2015)

Nighthawk (2017)

Sea of Greed (2018)

Journey of the Pharaohs (2020)

Fast Ice (2021)


Spartan Gold (2009)

Lost Empire (2010)

The Kingdom (2011

The Tombs (2012)

The Mayan Secrets (2013)

The Eye of Heaven (2014)

The Solomon Curse (2015)

Wrath of Poseidon (2020)

Visit the Clive Cussler Bookstore >>

Clive Cussler Kindle Editions >>

NUMA Files >>

Oregon Files >>

Isaac Bell >>

Dirk Pitt Adventures >>

Amazon Books Home >>

For your convenience, a printable checklist for all Clive Cussler's Novels by Series.

Copyright © 2004- by Ace Toscano. All rights reserved.
sitemap 1  sitemap 2
Privacy Policy